National Voters' Day - 25 January

National Voters' Day is celebrated in India on 25 January.  Government of India has decided to celebrate January 25 every year as "National Voters' Day" to encourage more young voters to take part in the political process. 25 January is selected to mark the foundation day of the Election Commission of India. The first National Voters' Day was celebrated in 2011.

Election Commission of India

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is a constitutional body. It was established by the Constitution of India to conduct and regulate elections in the country. The commission was established on 25 January 1950.

Themes of National Voters' Day

National Voters' Day Theme 2022 "Making Elections Inclusive, Accessible and Participative."

National Voters' Day Theme 2021 "Making Our Voters Empowered, Vigilant, Safe and Informed."

National Voters' Day Theme 2020 "Electoral Literacy for Stronger Democracy."

National Voters' Theme 2019: “No Voter to be left behind”

National Voters' Theme 2018: "Assessable Elections"

National Voters' Theme 2017: "Empowering Young and Future Voters"

National Voters' Theme 2016: "Inclusive and qualitative participation"

National Voters' Theme 2015: "Easy Registration, Easy Correction"

National Voters' Day  2023

Hon’ble President of India Smt. Droupadi Murmu will be the Chief Guest at the national function being organized in New Delhi by the Election Commission of India. Union Minister for Law and Justice, Shri Kiren Rijiju will grace the function as Guest of Honour.

The theme for this year’s NVD, ‘Nothing Like Voting, I Vote for Sure’ is dedicated to voters which conveys individual’s feelings and aspirations towards participation in the electoral process through power of their vote. The logo is designed to showcase festivity and inclusivity of the electoral process. Ashoka Chakra in the background represents the largest democracy of the world, whereas the inked finger represents participation of each and every voter of the country. The tick mark in the logo stands for informed decision making by the voter.

National Awards for the Best Electoral Practices

National Awards for the Best Electoral Practices will be presented to State and District level officers for their outstanding performance in the conduct of elections during 2022 in different spheres such as IT initiatives, Security Management, Election Management, Accessible Election, Electoral Roll and contribution in the field of voter awareness and outreach. National Awards will also be given to important stakeholders like government departments and media organizations for their valuable contribution towards voters’ awareness.
During the event in New Delhi, the Hon’ble President will present the National Awards for the year 2022.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post